Tuscaloosa, Alabama (EETV)- The Auburn Tigers came into Bryant-Denny Stadium a heavy underdog, but looked to shock the world with an upset over Alabama.

Early in the first half, Auburn's Shaun Shivers appeared to have a seventy yard rushing touchdown, but it was erased by a holding call on Sal Canella. Alabama would get the ball and Tua Tagovailoa would make it 7-0 with a rushing touchdown.

Auburn would answer with a 73 yard drive capped off by an Anthony Schwartz 9 yard touchdown to tie the game at 7-7. 

Alabama took the lead 14-7 with a four yard pass from Tagovailoa to Henry Ruggs III. Alabama would kick a field goal on the next drive to extend their lead to ten.

Auburn's special teams came through late in the second half as Smoke Monday blocked a punt to give Auburn great field position. The Tigers would capitalize as Ryan Davis found Malik Miller on a double pass to put Auburn down 17-14 at halftime.

In the second half, Alabama scored early with a 46 yard bomb from Tagovailoa to Jerry Juedy. 

Alabama's next drive resulted in a touchdown as Josh Jacobs took a 33 yard pass to the end zone to put Alabama up 31-14.

Auburn would cut the lead back to ten as Jarret Stidham found Darrius Slayton for a 52 yard touchdown.

Auburn's defense could not hold the Crimson Tide offense as Tagovailoa threw his fourth touchdown to DeVonta Smith for 40 yards. Alabama would tack on 2 more touchdowns as the Crimson Tide would go on to win 52-21.

Jarret Stidham ended the night 13 for 30 for 127 yards and a touchdown while Darius Slayton led the Tigers in receiving with 63 yards and one touchdown. Jatarvius Whitlow led the rushing game with 19 carries for 61 yards.

Tua Tagovailoa had a solid performance going 25/32 for 324 yards and 6 total touchdowns. Damien Harris led the Crimson Tide in rushing attack, rushing for 61 yards and Jerry Juedy racked up 77 yards receiving with one touchdown.

The loss puts Auburn's record at 7-5 and they will await the their bowl destination. Alabama will travel to Atlanta next week to play Georgia for the SEC Championship.