Auburn, Ala. (EETV) - The recipients for the prestigious Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award for the year of 2021 have been decided. Every year, Auburn bestows the honor of this award on one male and one female student; this year, an exemplary faculty member was also acknowledged.

Political Science Professor Steven Brown and College of Sciences and Mathematics students William Illiano and Meredith Sylvia have accepted the high praise of receiving this award, which highlights nobility of character and respectable qualities. Professor Brown is the Morris Savage Endowed Chair for the Department of Political Science while Illiano is a biomedical sciences major and Sylvia is an organismal biology major.

Illiano and Sylvia are both high-achieving students with a lot on their plates. Sylvia is a member of the gymnastics team as well as part of the 2018-20 Honor Roll, and was a research volunteer in Belize where she surveyed marine wildlife. Illiano served as president of Campus Kitchens and is a musician playing saxophone in Auburn's Marching Band and saxophone jazz band.

In addition, the recipient of the W. James Samford Jr. '72 Memorial Scholarship was decided to be Lauryn Malone. This scholarship recognizes one graduate in each school or college who has completed at least three semesters at Auburn with a minimum grade-point-average of 3.40 and possesses outstanding qualities in not only a student but as a person.

Malone is a biomedical sciences and pre-pharmacy major and plans to attend the Harrison School of Pharmacy to pursue a Doctor of Pharmacy after her graduation.

As well as the W. James Samford Jr. Foundation Award, the President's Award honorees were announced as follows:

Micah Owen Bartlett, College of Agriculture

Kyra Wesche, College of Architecture, Design and Construction

Matthew Emery Russell, Raymond J. Harbert College of Business

Shelby Grace Bramblett, College of Education

Lindsey Elaine Waggoner, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering

Robert James Sitze, School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences

Sumaiya Islam, Graduate School

Shannon Nicole Lucky, College of Human Sciences

Megan Richele Ondrizek, College of Liberal Arts

Jemesia Andrea Calloway, School of Nursing

Madeline Lynne Sheffield, Harrison School of Pharmacy

Victoria Susan Jiminez, College of Sciences and Mathematics

Mercedes Blythe Muldoon, College of Veterinary Medicine