AUBURN, Ala. (EETV)- On Nov. 18, the Auburn Faculty Awards will be announced, thanking faculty members for their contributions to the University. 

The awards take place every fall. However, this year there will be a smaller ceremony for the recipients due to COVID-19 health restrictions.  

When talking about the awards, Provost Bill Hardgrave said, “Auburn faculty bring an exceptional level of dedication and innovation to their roles each day, resulting in a positive impact on our students and the continued advancement of our mission. I look forward to recognizing these remarkable individuals who have excelled in their teaching, research, and outreach despite the extraordinary circumstances created by the pandemic.”

Below is a list of faculty and award winners from 2019-2020:


Alumni Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Award

The Alumni Undergraduate Teaching Excellence Award recognizes the outstanding teaching of undergraduates from nominations made by department heads, deans, alumni and students. A committee of retired faculty members selects the recipients. 

  • James Birdsong, lecturer and program coordinator, Department of Aviation, College of Liberal Arts 
  • Kerry Inger, associate professor, School of Accountancy, Harbert College of Business 
  • Jennifer W. Stone, professor, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, College of Sciences and Mathematics 

Distinguished Graduate Faculty Lectureship

The Distinguished Graduate Faculty Lectureship Award recognizes a faculty member based on excellence in research. It is co-sponsored by the Auburn Alumni Association and the Graduate School.

  • Jeffrey Suhling, Quina Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Samuel Ginn College of Engineering 


President’s Outstanding Collaborative Units Award 

Created in 2011, the award recognizes existing faculty collaborations among two or more departments, divisions, offices or programs within the university. To be considered, the work of the collaborative units must have advanced the excellence, impact and reputation of representing units and the university as a whole.

  • Creed to Succeed Initiative, Office of Academic Assessment, Biggio Center for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning, Institutional Research, Office of the Registrar, Office of Information Technology, Provost Communications and Marketing and University Career Center 


Departmental Award for Excellence in Education 

Created in 2013, the Departmental Award for Excellence in Education recognizes the efforts of departmental facultymembers for their commitment to improving education at both the undergraduate and graduate level. The Biggio Center for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning and the University Senate Teaching Effectiveness Committee administer this award on behalf of the Office of the Provost.

  • Department of Art and Art History, College of Liberal Arts


Provost Award for Faculty Excellence in Undergraduate Research Mentoring 

Established in 2012, this award recognizes faculty members who demonstrate a strong commitment to undergraduate research and outstanding services to students and whose efforts support Auburn students interested in careers in research and creative work.

  • Angela Calderón, associate professor, Department of Drug Discovery and Development, Harrison School of Pharmacy 


Creative Research and Scholarship Award 

The Creative Research and Scholarship Award recognizes faculty members who have distinguished themselves through research, scholarly works and creative contributions. This award recognizes two categories: sciences, medical sciences, engineering and agriculture; and fine arts, liberal arts, architecture and design, business and social and human sciences.


Sciences, Medical Sciences, Engineering and Agriculture category 

  • Bruce Gladden, Humana-Germany-Sherman Distinguished Professor, School of Kinesiology, College of Education  


Fine Arts, Liberal Arts, Architecture and Design, Business, Social and Human Sciences category

  • Kenneth W. Noe, Draughon Professor of Southern History, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts 

Award for Excellence in Faculty Outreach 

The Award for Excellence in Faculty Outreach honors the engagement of exemplary faculty members and demonstrates the tremendous impact Outreach has on our community, state, nation and beyond.

  • Steven Brown, professor, Department of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts 


Gerald and Emily Leischuck Endowed Presidential Awards for Excellence in Teaching

Gerald and Emily Leischuck, 1964 graduates and retired Auburn administrators, created the Endowed Presidential Awards for Excellence in Teaching in 2005. This award recognizes two full-time, tenured faculty members who have demonstrated effective and innovative teaching methods, along with a continued commitment to student success through advising and mentoring.

  • Kerry Inger, associate professor, School of Accountancy, Harbert College of Business 
  • Christopher Lepczyk, professor, School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences 


To find more information about the awards check the Faculty Awards website