AUBURN, Ala. (EETV) – Senior Unique Thompson is in the top-10 for the Katrina McClain Award, announced Thursday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. 

Named after the two-time All-American and 1987 National Player of the Year, the award recognizes the top forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. 

Thompson, a 6-3 senior, is the national leader in rebounds per game (14.0) and offensive rebounds per game (6.1). She is also the leading scorer (17.8 ppg) and has 11 double-doubles in 13 games played this season. 

With 1,070 career rebounds, Thompson is 49 away from breaking the Auburn career record. She just needs three more double-doubles to tie McClain for 13th in SEC history. 

In March, five finalists will be presented to Mrs. McClain-Pittman and the Hall of Fame selection committee. On Friday, Feb. 5, at noon CT Starting Five Fan voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on

On Friday, April 9, the winner of the 2021 Katrina McClain Award will be presented along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. 

2021 Katrina McClain Award Top 10

Jasmine Walker, Alabama

Unique Thompson, Auburn

NaLyssa Smith, Baylor

Naz Hillmon, Michigan

Jessika Carter, Mississippi State

Natasha Mack, Oklahoma State

Francesca Belibi, Stanford

N'dea Jones, Texas A&M

Chelsey Perry, UT Martin

Maddy Siegrist, Villanova