Montgomery, Ala. - According to a release from the Alabama Governor’s Office, President Donald Trump declared that a major disaster exists in the four Alabama counties: Geneva, Henry, Houston, and Mobile.

“I appreciate President Trump and FEMA for being responsive to our requests for assistance following Hurricane Michael,” Gov. Kay Ivey said. “Alabama did not take the brunt of the storm damage, but many people in our state were affected. This public assistance will be very beneficial, especially to the small communities in the Wiregrass that have worked very hard to clear the debris and get power service back up for residents.”

Through this Public Assistance Program, state and local governments affected by disaster are able to apply for federal funding to pay for 75 percent of approved costs such as debris removal and road repair.

“We are so appreciative of the support we have received from FEMA, our Congressional Delegation and the President for the Governor’s request,” said Alabama EMA Director Brian Hastings. “The Major Disaster Declaration is a huge step in the recovery process and represents the continuation of our strong partnership with FEMA and local governments to connect eligible applicants with Federal assistance to continue on their path to a better tomorrow.”